Alright, no witty introduction this time.  I want to start this off by saying I do not support or advocate for violence.  However, I also realize that it has, in the past, been necessary to bring about change.  Because of this, I am always quite baffled when members of the LGBT community pipe up saying that “violence never solves anything”.

There are two events in particular that come to mind: Compton’s Cafeteria Riot (1966) and, of course, the Stonewall Riots(1969).  Both of these events were spurred on by transwomen and yet, for whatever reason, certain factions within the LGBT community refuse to acknowledge it.  The same factions that believe the ‘T’ is a bit too distracting from queer liberation.  The same factions that were most offended when the city of Philadelphia added brown and black stripes to the pride flag.  The same factions that would never admit that they have transwomen of color to thank for their ability to get married.  It pains me that here, in 2017, in a community that is currently at risk of losing so many rights that had to be fought, that we are still bickering between one another.  How, I ask, do any of you still have the time to be racist and transphobic with all of this turmoil in the world?

This brings me to another point.  At every march for marriage equality, there were always trans people there in support of the cause, even if they might be in a heterosexual relationship.  Straight trans folks knew that success on the front of marriage equality would, in the long term, be beneficial to the entire lgbt community.  So I ask you this: where are all of the gay allies at trans liberation marches?  What?  Is our fight not just as important as yours?  Now that you have what you want, are we to just be tossed at the wayside?  I know some of my readers may read this and think that this might be some sort of vast generalization.  I assure you that given what I have heard from my contacts all over the nation, it is not.

Trans liberation may seem like a silly concept to some of you cis readers.  I won’t lie, it seems silly to me too.  Why, you ask?  It’s 2017.  The year is more than halfway over.  But here we are, still fighting.  Still trying to prove the validity of our existence to a world that seems determined to shut us down.  I am not asking for much.  I am just looking forward to the day when I can go out and have a good time without the fear of having my name read off on November 20th, or maybe even go to the grocery store without being harassed.  Or how about something else?  How about the ability to have stable employment or housing without the fear of losing either due to being openly trans?  Is this all really too much to ask?

Apparently the answer is yes.  But, you know what?  That’s fine.  We can keep fighting, absent allies be damned.  We started this thing and we are damn well going to finish it.  You can stand with us or don’t.  The queer revolution will keep moving, whether you help us or not.  At this point, we don’t have the time to worry about catering to the delicate sensibilities of some allies.  We just want people to stop murdering us.

This isn’t a fight that has to be violent.  I think most of us would prefer that it isn’t.  Even the smallest act can be revolutionary.  My trans siblings: go out, love, be happy!  In many cases, just living a valid, joyful existence is the most revolutionary act we can muster.  Let’s make sure each day is a small revolution!

 

So, readers, keep fighting.  Keep making your voice heard.  Keep loving one another! You are all valid and I love, and support, each and every one of you.  And, hey, stay safe.

Leave a Reply

