I meant to post this yesterday, but I forgot to hit the publish button.  Oops.

How about a joke, yeah?  How many trans people does it take to change a light bulb?

Stumped? Here is the answer: Only one, but they have to live for a year in the dark to be completely, absolutely sure it needs changing and have the confirming opinions of 2 electricians (at least one with a PhD).

It’s funny because it’s true!

I am finally on track to get back on my hormones, but in the process, I learned a few things:

A.) Apparently carry letters have an expiration date.  Who woulda thunk it?

B.) Medicaid is a freaking blessing

I was able to go in, have my initial appointment with a new doctor, get blood work, the whole deal.  Without medicaid there is no way this would have happened.  I would not be able to afford any of this and my quality of life would continue it’s slow decline.  But, does this really matter?  I mean, we have some lovely politicians out there that believe lives like mine aren’t even valid in the first place, so why should I also be able to take care of myself?  What sort of blasphemy is this!

But hey, as long as those rich folks continue to get their government healthcare, it’s all good, right?  Fuck those below the poverty line!  Why should they worry about us?  It’s not like we contribute anything to society, right?  But let’s not forgot us pesky LGBT folks too.  The ones that still have to worry about keeping a job or a home if we come out.

On that topic, huge shout-out to Pennsylvania State Representative Daryl Metcalfe of the 12th Legislative District, Butler County!  Thank you, good sir, for your work as the chair of the House State Government Committee!  I love how, thanks to you, the updates to the PA Fairness act that would include Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity/Expression have been blocked 7 times in the last 14 years because you, as the chair, will not let it the bill enter your committee.  I applaud you in your audacity.  I really do.  But hey, sometimes we need a reminder of the past.  How else would we remember just how shitty people were?  I mean, eventually you will lose.  People from your cut of cloth almost always are.

But on the other hand, it is because of people like you that I have started this blog and joined various small activist groups.  You’ve given me motivation to do something with my spare time.  So again, thank you Rep. Metcalfe, in a way, you’ve done me a favor.

Maybe a nice thank you letter is in order.

 

 

And remember, I love you and I see how valid you are.  Go out, change the world in any way you can.  We all have a part in this fight, no matter how small.

Leave a Reply

